Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Questions > Can't change author's name

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dan (new)

Dan | 13 comments I want to change an author's name to reflect more closely that used for most of their books. Unfortunately, as they are a Goodreads author, as a librarian, I can't do this.

"Sorry, this author is on Goodreads and is responsible for editing their own data."

Luckily, the author is happy for me to act on their behalf in this. Well, you'd think so, but when I try and make the change from inside their account:

"Sorry, only users with librarian status can edit book and author data."

I don't think it can be expected that every author who wants to correct their name can be expected to become a Goodreads librarian. Does anyone have a solution to this surprising problem.

Otherwise I have wasted a lot of time changing the book data to reflect the name on the books, and will have to change it all back so that they appear on the one profile.

Many thanks!

message 2: by Scott (last edited Sep 03, 2019 02:44PM) (new)

Scott | 16336 comments There are specific rules regarding author names and they should not be changed once GR has approved a particular one.

Without knowing the particulars of your issue it is impossible to comment on it further.

message 3: by Dan (new)

Dan | 13 comments Scott wrote: "There are specific rules regarding author names and they should not be changed once GR has approved a particular one.

Without knowing the particulars of your issue it is impossible to comment on i..."

Is there any *potential* solution to this problem, Scott?

message 4: by Scott (new)

Scott | 16336 comments Basically, the author name should match what is on the books, so you were correct in doing that.