readers advisory for all discussion

readers advisory for all > Doing a thesis on Readers' Advisory

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carolyn (new)

Carolyn  (chooliki) | 13 comments Hello,
As I mentioned I am a Grad student in Library Science. I am doing a paper on Social Media and Reader's Advisory in Libraries.
I am curious if Social media has made your job easier finding material for a patron, or if social media has hurt having patrons come into your library and check out material. Are people still interested in approaching the librarians for recommendations, or has social media taken over?

Thank you.
Carolyn

message 2: by Ray (new)

Ray (justcallmeray) | 4 comments It seems mostly social media has made patrons more knowledgeable about what books they want as opposed to asking staff for recommendations especially for YA titles

message 3: by Rossdavidh (new)

Rossdavidh | 2 comments I'm not a librarian but I just wanted to raise another possibility. When I was 13, after finishing JRRTolkien's works, I might wonder, "what else is kind of like Tolkien?" However, when my 13 year old daughter finished the first Warrior Cats series, she knew what to read next: the next 6-book series. There are, I'm led to believe 6 series of 6 books. This is an extreme example, but it is clearly more common now than 30-40 years ago for an author (or in this case, a consortium of authors writing under one pen name) to churn out book after book after book in the same series. There may be less reason for them to ask a librarian for a recommendation simply because the next book is provided for them by changes in publishing/writing.

Just another hypothesis for your paper to consider, of something other than social media that has changed in the last few decades.