THE Group for Authors! discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
General Discussion > Goodreads Algorithm Hurts Authors - And Also How To Improve It

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sayde (new)

Sayde Scarlett (goodreadscomsayde_scarlett) I'm a debut independent author who has had a bad experience on Goodreads but I feel like I have to continue using this site as people (including my publicist) expect me to. I want to be part of the solution rather than the problem, so I am here to give you some feedback.

Goodreads effectively profits off the products (books) created by other people (authors), therefore our thoughts, opinions, and yes, feelings should be considered at all times.

1. Because the Goodreads algorithm means the reviews with most comments and likes goes to the top of the reviews - the reviewers with the most controversial, bad faith, hot-takes naturally get pushed to the top.

How does this help authors or good faith readers? It just makes the site unpleasant.

There is a big difference between a thoughtful negative review and someone who is just there to sh*tpost and put people/books down to make themselves feel good.

2. You should, as a rule, cascade reviews from positive to negative by default.

Comments are disproportionately negative as anger is more likely to prompt a comment than good feeling. Cascading from positive to negative by default would redress this balance and actually help authors.

3. You should also not allow people to "like" reviews.

This feature should be replaced with an upvote and a downvote like on Reddit or Quora. Therefore the community can police unhelpful reviews.