Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Bulletin Board > Readers of book blogs - Do they exist (or, rather, how many of them are actually around)?

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Leon (new)

Leon Kaminsky I've just been wondering - would someone really spend their time reading book blogs? Because why would they? If they have to buy books, surely they would already have tons of things they would like to read? I personally never run out of ideas what to read next. If I did, I would go to the library or just browse Amazon or go to a brick-and-mortar bookstore. And to be honest, in spite of being an indie author, I would much rather read a traditionally published book - classics or contemporary, fiction or non-fiction. I realise this may sound like betrayal, but this is how I feel.

So, I'm just wondering - are there really a lot of folks around who would actually read book blogs to find stuff to read? Not just the kind of blogs that publish reviews for books they're asked to review, but any kind of book blogs.

message 2: by Shomeret (new)

Shomeret | 138 comments Book blogger here. Am I hugely popular? No. But can I expect some views on every review? Yes. One of my blogs gets at least a hundred views for nearly every review. This is a specialized blog for strong female protagonists in historical fiction novels for the most part. I am quite selective about the books that I review for that blog.

This may seem strange to you, but discovering books isn't the only reason why people read reviews. Many people read reviews to find out what other people thought of the books they already read. Perhaps it gives them ideas for a discussion of the book on Goodreads or a F2F book group. Maybe they are also book bloggers and they want some idea of what other bloggers have already said. Maybe they're just curious about other people's opinions.