The Silk Roads: A New History of the World The Silk Roads question

Is it worth reading? Thoughts?
Zahra Zahra Aug 23, 2018 11:58PM
I'm a sociology student in university, currently looking for books to give me some insight into ancient history, anthropology, and political sociology. I found Harari's Sapiens fascinating and would appreciate more books like that. Give me your opinions, recommendations, anything relevant. Peace ✌️ Sapiens A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

'The Silk Roads: The New History of the World' by Peter Frankopan can give you insight into ancient history, anthropology and political ideology. I would love to recommend it.

better than sapiens

If you aren't familiar with world history, yes, it's a good read. But if you're familiar with world history already, you'll feel like you know most of the stuff and you should've spent the money on another book. (Also, in case you didn't know, Better World Books donates a book whenever you buy one from them.)

Absolutely worth it. Great narrative/historical read and engaging with even the most dense of facts. Highly recommend.

deleted member (last edited Apr 29, 2019 05:49PM ) Apr 29, 2019 05:48PM   0 votes
A great book for insight. This book managed to make me sit up and pay attention as well as change the way I think about the world today. After nearly 50 years of reading about both ends of the silk roads as if they were disconnected, I have a much wider and I suspect more sensible viewpoint as a result of this well written book.

U 25x33
Adrienne Hamilton Agree - found this a well researched and good read
May 20, 2019 04:57PM

yes, it's a fine book to read but ometimes a little bit shallow. I personally prefer "a splenddid exchange" which gives far deeper insights about why and how the trade routes are shaped like they did.
A Splendid Exchange: How Trade Shaped the World from Prehistory to Today