Goodreads Developers discussion

examples / showcase > How can I extract all reviews (full text) for a specific book?

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Giulia (new)

Giulia | 4 comments Hi, I am very new to this kind of data analyses, so please accept my apologies if this question had been addressed before, I could not find a solution that was accessible to me.
I simply need to obtain all (or as many) reviews for two books, namely Woolf's To the Lighthouse and Mrs Dalloway, so that i can then analyse the corpus obtained from them and see if readers define the two novels as "difficult".
I tried following the API page instructions but did not manage.
I don't need all the coding and complicated things around it, I only need the review texts.
Can this be done anyhow?
Thank you so much! (Please do not answer with technicalities! Assume I'm a 5 year old) Thanks!

message 2: by Oleg (new)

Oleg Linkin (maledictus) | 60 comments Argh, use search!
See all available api in api list and you will find your answer

message 3: by Giulia (new)

Giulia | 4 comments I did use search, thanks, and as I mentioned there is not really an accessible answer for non-programmers

message 4: by Giulia (new)

Giulia | 4 comments Any example/suggestions instead?

message 5: by Marisa (last edited Aug 10, 2018 01:13PM) (new)

Marisa (moretta) | 13 comments Problem is: APIs are for developers, querying resources and parsing responses are for developers, it's not feasible to answer in a "non-programmer" mode.

message 6: by Giulia (new)