Support for Indie Authors discussion

Writing Process & Programs > KDP Select v. Other Platforms

Comments Showing 1-50 of 52 (52 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Camille (new)

Camille Marino (camillemarino) | 4 comments I suspect this question is so remedial that everyone gets how this works but me. I cannot find a relevant discussion anywhere.

I'm a new author and have found it necessary to enroll in KDP Select so I can do the free or $.99 book countdown deals. In that way, I can get sites like Freebooksy, etc to feature my book during those promo periods every three months.

But by being in KDP Select, I cannot publish my books on other sites and I understand that it's fairly important to get listed on Kobo, Apple, B&N, and myriad other sites.

What am I missing? Is everyone confining themselves to KDP and foregoing other markets or vice versa?

message 2: by Alex (new)

Alex Carver | 770 comments Camille wrote: "I suspect this question is so remedial that everyone gets how this works but me. I cannot find a relevant discussion anywhere.

I'm a new author and have found it necessary to enroll in KDP Select ..."

Yes, a lot of people are choosing to enrol their books in KDP Select when they first publish because it offers the best chances for visibility. It takes longer, and can be much harder, to get visibility and sales on the other ebook retailers, and people like the opportunities presented by KDP Select and Kindle Unlimited, specifically the page reads.

Personally I have my books wide on as many sites as possibility, but I'm in the minority.

message 3: by Camille (new)

Camille Marino (camillemarino) | 4 comments Alex wrote: "Personally I have my books wide on as many sites as possibility, but I'm in the minority.
"