Navigating Indieworld Discussing All Things Indie discussion

Where Can I Promote My Book? > UK Libraries - anyone know how to tempt them?

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Anna (new)

Anna Faversham (annafaversham) | 1139 comments So now I have some paperback books at last, I'm going to need to sell some. My first thought is libraries - not known for buying books really, but I thought I could give them one book and hope they'll ask for more. You can probably see that I'm not that good at selling!

Do any UK authors get their stuff (sorry masterpieces) into libraries? If so, what's the best way to go about it?

message 2: by D.J. (new)

D.J. Cooper | 1028 comments I’ve never tried. I know if you manage it you have to apply for public lending rights. I’d be interested to know if you get somewhere.

message 3: by Theodore (new)

Theodore Cohen (theodorejeromecohen) | 1419 comments Anna Faversham wrote: "So now I have some paperback books at last, I'm going to need to sell some. My first thought is libraries - not known for buying books really, but I thought I could give them one book and hope they..."

I'd go into the nearest library and inquire. Perhaps they have a process by which authors can submit their books for consideration. Or, perhaps they will accept donations. Just march right in and ask for the head librarian. You have nothing to lose.

message 4: by Anna (new)

Anna Faversham (annafaversham) | 1139 comments Thanks both. I've got it in my diary to do just that, Theodore, I've even made a list of libraries that are near to places mentioned in the books but I've read somewhere in the last few days that this practice (of hoping they'll order more) doesn't work. I can see they might take my book as a donation but will they purchase more from Amazon?