Navigating Indieworld Discussing All Things Indie discussion

HELP! > What are website backlinks and should I be concerned?

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Erica (new)

Erica Graham (erica_graham) | 1496 comments Mod
I just received this email from my contact page on my website. I am still learning all this. What is it and should I be concerned? I am not responding to the email.

I send spam backlinks to your website and now I request that you order my gigs to remove them. If you do not order, I send more spam backlinks to destroy your site. You understand me? Please order now from **link** and let's be friends. Friend, you need to learn to support each other. $100 is nothing to you but I need feed family. Thank you for understanding

message 2: by D.J. (new)

D.J. Cooper | 1028 comments That sounds like the threatening emails I get that I usually delete. Don’t click any links. And wait to see if anyone else has more details.

message 3: by Erica (new)

Normally I don't, but this was sent to me as a message directly from my contact form on my website so it didn't send up a red flag at first glance.

message 4: by D.J. (new)

D.J. Cooper | 1028 comments I’m no expert. I’ve never had anything like that outside of normal email. It does sound like the nutter trying it on.

message 5: by D.J. (new)

D.J. Cooper | 1028 comments Ok. Danny works in IT. He says check your website and see if anything has changed. Has the person managed to upload anything to it or does it look the same as you last left it? It’s usually idle threats of things that are vaguely possible. If nothing has changed ignore it.

message 6: by Theodore (last edited Jun 28, 2018 03:13PM) (new)