Great American Read List discussion

Reading and Associated Themes > How Do You Organize Your Library?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lavan, moderator (last edited Jun 26, 2018 05:09PM) (new)

Lavan Zerach | 498 comments Mod
The last time I organized my print library, which was around February, I sorted my books into sections. One has book series, in order, as well as collections by authors such as Ernest Hemingway and Stephen King. Another has stand-alone books arranged by author's last name. There's also a stack of references and a pile of theology and philosophy.
Next time, I think I'll separate the nonfiction as well.

Do you arrange your home library in a systematic way or do you place your books haphazardly? Please share!

message 2: by Parker (new)

Parker | 58 comments I majored in Library Science for my B.S. degree, so it's natural that my nonfiction books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal system. My fiction books are arranged by author's last name, just as it would be in a library.

message 3: by Andrew, moderator (new)

Andrew (andyhuey) | 332 comments Mod
My print library is just a mess. Piles of books everywhere. I do generally manage to keep books from the same author or in the same series together, but I don't manage any more than that.

I'm gradually trying to give most of my old books away, usually to library book sales. I'd like to eventually get it down to just a few shelves of books that have sentimental value to me.

I keep track of donated books in Goodreads with a "donated" shelf. I did that so I wouldn't ever go digging for a book that I don't own anymore. And it's nice to be able to see at a glance how many books I've given away.

I generally try to stick with ebooks for new stuff, these days.

message 4: by Lavan, moderator (new)