Persephone Books discussion

Guard Your Daughters
This topic is about Guard Your Daughters
Guard Your Daughters > Just Started

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Karen | 351 comments Mod
Just started reading Gaurd Your Daughters, such a funny first chapter, reminds me of Little Women !
Who is reading this book with us during June ?

Tania | 255 comments I've started this one too and loving it so far. They are a wonderful family to read about, they remind me of the family in The Brontës Went to Woolworths, which I loved, (both the family and the book).

Pamela (bibliohound) I have a few other books waiting, but will definitely be reading this one, expect to get to it in mid-June

Karen | 351 comments Mod
Hiding wet stockings in the grandfather clock !! so funny : D

Toast (hotbutteredtoast) | 55 comments Well, I'm the new girl and I'm completely new at this so I'll just jump in. Sorry everyone if that's not the way to do it. Here's my First Impressions after a quick first read - I've just finished it and I am a mass of contridictions about it - I loved it, thought it typical eccentric English Family stuff beloved by the US especially, couldn't date it properly, hated the selfish parents who had so ill-prepared their daughters for life outside their house, wonderfully witty writing, realised how modern it was etc.
I was reminded of 'I Capture the Castle' by Dodie Smith and the humour was pure 'Blandings' by PG Wodehouse.
It was more a series of comic/silly episodes like beads on a necklace usually about catching men that underlined the 'Don't upset your Mother' mantra from cowardly Father more than a plotted story until the final crisis which is powerful and has an unexpected effect on the reader regarding Cressida, Mother, Father and the Family. We can debate that for hours methinks.
The writing is sharp, very funny and yet beneath the surface there is a brittleness. Its not really a happy book.