The Next Best Book Club discussion

Summer Reading Challenge (2018) > Karen's summer reading challenge

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Karen (last edited Jul 08, 2018 08:06AM) (new)

Karen (readerkaren) Hi. I am a newbie to the group. I love the idea of a summer reading challenge. It reminds of the summers when I sat in my parents' backyard, reading as many library books as I could before school started again. Here are my selections, but I don't think it will still be summer when I get them all finished.

Into the great wide open - Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

Get your grill on - I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Pool

the colors of summer - Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

beach bum - Beautiful Day

sand between my toes - The Husband Hour

ocean blue (environmental)- Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea and of the Beachcombers, Oceanographers, Environmentalists, and Fools, Including the Author, Who Went in Search of Them

ocean blue (fiction) - Ship of Fools

hook 'em - The Old Man and the Sea

sports-a-holic (baseball) - Take Time for Paradise: Americans and Their Games

7/8/18 - changing my selection to: Wait Till Next Year (because I found this book in my basement and it is on my TBR list)

campfire story - Jaws

one and done - Pure Drivel

let's get it on - Love and Ruin

take pride - Letters to the Lost

read the world - Girl with a Pearl Earring

diversify yourself - I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

You have a lovely accent - Daughter of Fortune

Won't be long - Writers on Writing: Collected Essays from ''The New York Times''

Poet at heart - Wade in the Water: Poems

book that puts a spin on a fairy tale - Mirror Mirror

High noon - Lonesome Dove

TBRing it - Still Alice

Unshelve it - She Got Up Off the Couch: And Other Heroic Acts from Mooreland, Indiana

Childhood reboot - Choose Your Own Disaster

Peter Pan

Listen to me - Sing, Unburied, Sing