THE Group for Authors! discussion

General Discussion > Difference between Goodreads author page and Amazon Author Central

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Adrian (new)

Morales Adrian | 4 comments Hello,

Can you please tell me the difference between the Goodreads author page and Amazon Author Central ? Aren't both services owned by Amazon? Why create two pages? With two separate blogs and info and such?

message 2: by Amrita (new)

Amrita (arao) | 4 comments Strange, isn't it? It would be so much easier for Authors if we could show our ratings from Goodreads on the Amazon book page. I wonder why they keep both the services separate.

message 3: by Eric (last edited May 17, 2018 03:26AM) (new)

Eric Westfall (eawestfall) | 186 comments I'm not an expert, but the reason for the no-crossovers seems simple to me. No matter who owns what, these are two separate companies with separate purposes.

Amazon is a retailer whose purpose is to sell, sell, sell. (Nope, not indicating that's a bad thing). It has certain standards for what its star ratings mean, and certain review standards. It obviously hopes that the more and higher ratings a book has the more it will sell.

Goodreads is a readers company, where the purpose is for readers to share their views on books and meet like-minded people to discuss (or disagree about) particular books or genres or whatever. GR review standards, such as what the stars mean, are different from AMZ.

So for practical reasons there is no (nor, in my never humble opinion, should there be) automatic crossover in either direction between GR reviews and AMZ reviews.