Literally Geeky discussion

Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time
This topic is about Longitude
Longitude > Longitude - Your Thoughts

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ez, The God of Catan (last edited Jul 28, 2014 05:15PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Ez (thevapidwench) | 287 comments Mod
Hey folks,

This is the first non-fiction pick for the book club, and I appreciate it might not immediately seem like everyone's cup of tea.

The story of 'Longitude' is the tale of an eccentric, a lone scientist, a man against the establishment and the story of a paradigm shift. The world would never be the same again.

Let's here your thoughts. All comments welcome.

message 2: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah (adventgeekgirl) | 5 comments I'm a middle school Literacy teacher who feels so stifled by the U.S.'s current push for kids to read more and more non-fiction (or practical reading) than fiction that I am smothered during the school year by non-fiction reading. Plus my other book group has only been reading non-fiction since I joined them. It must be something about me joining clubs that compels them to want to read non-fiction.

With that minor whinge out of the way, it does look like an intriguing and informative read. I'm wondering if all the hyped summaries and reviews really reflect how engaging it will be to read. I've added it to my to-read, but I'm going to go back into the Literally Geeky stacks and catch up on some of the fictional offerings that really revved my reader engine.

message 3: by Ez, The God of Catan (new) - rated it 3 stars

Oooh, bad timing indeed.

I picked Longitude to tie in with the 300 year anniversary of the Longitude Act, the resurrection of the Longitude Committee and its offer of a £10 million prize, open to anyone, to help tackle one of the great issues of our time - the public voted for antimicrobial resistance.