UK Amazon Kindle Forum discussion

General Chat - anything Goes > Too many authors on Goodreads?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 81 (81 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Will (new)

Will Once (willonce) | 4053 comments Okay, so I ought to declare an interest. I am an author and I joined Goodreads (partly) to promote my own books.

But...

Since joining, I've had a slight change of heart. I've really enjoyed those discussions that don't involve my own books, whether it's swapping innuendoes about sausages or yakking about a particular book review.

And I'm starting to get the impression that Goodreads could get spoiled if it become too much about authors pushing their latest book. This forum is one of the better ones, but some of the other forums I'm on seem to be mostly about people saying "Hey, buy my new book".

Which is all very well, but if that's all we say it could drive some or all of the readers away.

It's a bit like the business thingie LinkedIn. That started as a way for business people to keep in touch, but seems to have morphed into a tool for recruiters to do their head-hunting.

Is it just me thinking this way?

Patti (baconater) (goldengreene) | 61757 comments I hope we keep a balance in here. That's the aim, anyway.

Of course we want to hear about our author's books, but that's not ALL we want to hear about.

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim | 22035 comments A lot of groups have been well and truly screwed by too many authors screaming 'buy my book.'
Amazon had to create a special 'Meet our authors' Forum where they were allowed to do it, and where readers very rarely went.
(Mind you I think Amazon has abandoned its own forums, I suspect it regards Goodreads as the replacement.)