Readalongs with Ange discussion

April - East of Eden > Chapter 1 - 28 Discussion

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ange (new)

Ange | 54 comments Mod
Here we can discuss the first half of East of Eden

message 2: by Lindsey (new)

Lindsey (bookedforlife) | 6 comments So, I planned on following the reading schedule because I thought it would make this book easier to get through, but it seems that won't be necessary. It hooked me immediately! I read the first eight chapters today. I only stopped because I actually do want to pace myself a bit.

This is my first time reading anything by Steinbeck, and I'm kicking myself for not reading any of his works before now. I'm loving his writing, and the characters, so far. Off to a great start!

message 3: by Ange (new)

Ange | 54 comments Mod
That is great to hear Lindsey! I started yesterday and I am at chapter 7 now and I agree, I love his writing and his characters. It has quite dark themes but such beautiful writing. I am loving it!

message 4: by MªJesús (new)

MªJesús Tovar | 20 comments I’m finishing chapter 8. I like the way the author introduces us the characters and I’m waiting for the moment their lives intersect.

message 5: by Lia (new)

Lia (hydeseek) | 4 comments Yes. Hook line and sinker. Loving it so far. So many notes in my book.
I love how you immediately tell get a sense of who everyone is and how they fit in the story.
How evil is Cathy. chapter 7 and she is already amazingly evil. Where will it go from here ???

message 6: by Ange (new)

Ange | 54 comments Mod
Lia wrote: "Yes. Hook line and sinker. Loving it so far. So many notes in my book.
I love how you immediately tell get a sense of who everyone is and how they fit in the story.
How evil is Cathy. chapter 7 a..."