Editors and Writers discussion

Getting into editing

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Becky (new)

Becky | 3 comments Hi

I am new to the group and the world of editing/publishing. I love to read and have been doing some Beta and review reading.

I realized I have a passion for books and the process. I want to go back to school for editing/publishing and have not been able to figure out a solid plan. Should I go for a degree or a certificate? I have a master's degree in a different field.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thank you
Becky

message 2: by Harrison (new)

Harrison Demchick | 19 comments Becky,

A degree in English or creative writing (there aren't many institutions that offer something more precise than that) looks decent on the resume, but doesn't really set you apart from every other English major who thinks they can edit. Workshop experience is crucial in helping hone your critiquing skills, but it doesn't necessarily need to be in pursuit of another degree.

What actually sets you apart in editing is experience. When I started freelancing, I had years of experiencing editing manuscripts for a traditional publisher and a lot of published books to my credit. Because of that tangible professional experience, I was able to build up a client base. So if you can find a way to intern at a publisher--it's unlikely you'd be hired for pay right off the bat--that experience may actually serve you better than the degree.

But some places probably require the degree for the internship, so that could be a bit of a catch. This is a tricky business.

Harrison Demchick
Developmental Editor, Ambitious Enterprises
www.ambitiousenterprises.com

message 3: by Nikki (last edited Jul 24, 2014 02:04PM) (new)

Nikki | 4 comments Becky, I think different editors take different paths. As Harrison pointed out, getting some intern experience is one way to go about it. There are other ways too.