UK Amazon Kindle Forum discussion

General Chat - anything Goes > What would you find useful in a website for writers?

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joseph (new)

Joseph | 23 comments As a programmer, I often think about putting together a website for writers both for the writer part of me and for teh code practice. I don't really have that much spare time at the moment, so chances are that nothing concrete will come of this in any case; but the discussion may be interesting all the same.
So, what features would you want a website for writers?

As a start, I'll mention one thing I enjoyed on the now defunct writon.amazon -: weekly writing prompts for a flash fiction story. I'd change that to daily, but that's something that's been on my mind as a 'would like to do' for a while.

message 2: by P.J. (new)

P.J. DeVere I like the writing prompts idea, but I have just put out my first book and I have a real opinion about this. I lost my religion trying to make my own author website.
I bought my domain, got a free website builder, hit publish **crickets chirping**
3 hours of tech support and many curse words later, turns out I didn't add a "hosting package" @#$@#%@%$@
So yeah, an easy to understand "how to for idiots" article would have been right up my alley!
I hope you do start a website, and I wish you the best of luck!
-PJD

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim | 21944 comments I think we really need something that puts everybody else but us off writing in the first place, to do something to cut down the competition :-)

Patti (baconater) (goldengreene) | 61757 comments Hmmm.

We could do a writing prompts thread in the group.

Any interest in that?

message 5: by Kath (new)

Kath Middleton | 25063 comments I've been finding photos I've taken on holiday are useful writing prompts. It happened last year and again this time.

message 6: by Jim (new)