The See Also Literature and technology Book Club discussion

Technically Wrong > Articles relating to topics in Technically Wrong

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by HKMar (new)

HKMar | 18 comments Reddit is place that you can get news and the best memes but it has a dark side too.
The trolls are winning. How do we fix life online without limiting free speech?
https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/20...

message 2: by Eric (new)

Eric | 36 comments HKMar wrote: "Reddit is place that you can get news and the best memes but it has a dark side too.
The trolls are winning. How do we fix life online without limiting free speech?
https://www.newyorker.com/maga..."

I remember as an undergrad I took a class called Marxism and Feminism. One of the things that stuck with me was when the professor said that the liberal worldview is not unlike an inverted pyramid with primarily smart people at the top and then as you go down the pyramid and account for fewer numbers, people become less smart. Most people are smart and good-hearted. The Internet has in a way provided those that are toxic to have an unaccountable anonymous voice and because these people might end up grouping themselves together, they appear to be bigger and more important than they are. Maybe that is optimistic but I’m sticking with it.

message 3: by HKMar (new)

HKMar | 18 comments It describes Reddit culture perfectly.

message 4: by Amy (new)

Amy (puzumaki) | 45 comments I've thought about this a bit, how the Internet is giving more voice to hatred than I think exists in real life. Or it gives the "freedom" to say what you wouldn't in person. The problem isn't necessarily free speech but rather anonymity hooked into it. It's a space in which we can "reach" anyone. I could tweet at Sarah Jessica Parker, for instance, and it would be publicly consumed yet anonymous at the same time.

Here are the steps I am inclined to investigate/enact: