Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Diary of a Zombie
This topic is about Diary of a Zombie
Questions > Should I add new version for EPUB, if Kindle ed. already exist (different ISBNs)

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sergi (new) - added it

Sergi Llauger (sergillauger) | 15 comments I am an author and just added my new book soon to be released. In the ISBN field I entered that of the Kindle edition. The EPUB version has another, but features the same cover and content (slight format differences aside), and is the edition that will be sold in ebook retailers different from Amazon.

I have no idea how Goodreads does to populate the drop-down buttons "Get a copy: online stores | book links" in the book's Goodreader page. I would obviously like it to list all ebook retailers where the book is sold.

So I do not know if I should be adding a new edition for the EPUB version with identical data except for the ISBN. As an author, my purpose in participating and having my books in Goodreads is obviously creating awareness, for the new book even before it is released (I will also be doing giveaways and uploading an excerpt of almost 1/3rd of the book).

But I am afraid that having two editions of a same book that still has to earn any interest might see the potential hype diluted as reviews, if any comes, may go to one or the other. On the other hand, I am afraid that having only the Kindle edition's ISBN number will prevent Goodreads from being able to list ebooks retailers where the book is available different from Amazon.

What do you suggest an author with a soon-to-be-released book should do?

message 2: by Yzabel (new)