Around the Year in 52 Books discussion

2018 Plans > Danielle - 2018 Challenge

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Danielle (last edited Oct 04, 2018 08:04PM) (new)

Danielle | 19 comments Progress: 10/52 = 19.23%

This is my first time competing in the challenge. I started the year slower than I wanted to, but I'm working to get back on track. I'm also switching gears. I was going to try to read as many books off my TBR pile as possible, but now I'm focusing on books from the Great American Read and fitting in other books as I can. Happy reading!

The 2018 List

1. A book with the letters A, T & Y in the title
2. A book from the first 10 books added to your To Be Read list
3. A book from the 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards (link)
4. 4 books linked by the 4 elements: Book #1 Earth (in title, cover, content, setting, author...)
5. A book about or inspired by real events
6. A book originally written in a language other than English
7. A gothic novel
8. An "own voices" book*
9. A book with a body part in the title (heart, bones, teeth, skin, blood, etc)
10. An author's debut book (their first book to be published) The Outsiders 9/19/18
11. A literary fiction
12. A book set in Africa or South America
13. A book with a plot centered around a secret (forbidden love, spies, secret societies, etc) The Scarlet Letter 1/26/18
14. 4 books linked by the 4 elements: Book #2 Fire
15. A book with an unique format/writing structure The Book Thief 9/4/18
16. A narrative nonfiction
17. A book you expect to make you laugh
18. A book with a location in the title
19. A book nominated for the Edgar Award or by a Grand master author (books & authors)
20. A book rated 5 stars by at least one of your friends
21. A book written in first person perspective Invisible Man 9/23/18
22. A book you have high expectations or hope for
23. A medical or legal thriller
24. A book with a map
25. A book with an antagonist/villain point of view