LitRPG Forum discussion

How charts are presented

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Phil (new)

Phil Maxey | 1 comments First post here. I'm an author, and I'm planning a LitRPG novel. Regarding the charts, do they have to be displayed as images? or could characters be used to show the stats? such as the following...

---------
Stamina: 89
---------
Strength: 56
---------

And so on?

Also does anyone know of any successful LitRPG novels that are using characters instead of images for the charts?

And lastly do you like more elaborately designed charts? or basic is fine?

message 2: by Hamda (new)

Hamda (kidlike) Off the top of my head I can think only one that is stat heavy, the mirror world series.

There are a few others but not as heavy handed, at least I can't think them at the moment. Most of the ones I've read recently incorporate the stats into the the narrative rather then listing them all flat out.

Which is better depends on the style you are going for but personally I tend to skip those tables if they appear too often, once every few chapters when a big change happens is ok but I don't need to know what the MC's entire Battle log looks like.

message 3: by Allan (new)

Allan (allan_williams) | 14 comments I tend to read most of my books on my phone these days, but will still use my K2 and even the Kindle desktop app on my tablet on occasion. It has been my experience that the actual charts don't resize very well between the different screen sizes. Thankfully, there aren't many books that use that format.
I usually prefer the simple end of chapter character synopsis. I can skip it if I want without missing anything, but can also refer back to it quickly if needs be.
The Alpha World series by Daniel Schinhofen uses a simple synopsis style layout at the end of some chapters. It does get a little long as the spells get listed.
Good luck with your book.

message 4: by Vikarti (new)