Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince question

does anybody here think that draco malfoy was misunderstood and underrated?
Eman Ahmed Eman Sep 30, 2017 07:16AM
a topic for discussing draco malfoy. discuss away!

I agree with the comments by Diane and david Christopher marchant.

It seems well established in the comments here that nobody can deny that Draco Malfoy was an insufferable bully. But I think a lot of why he started out as a bully was because when he was young, vulnerable, and impressionable, bullying was modeled for him by his father and he had no other role models to look up to.

As a teacher I see this all the time in my students - very young children inevitably end up treating other people the way they see their parents treating other people. I don't hold this against them because how are they supposed to know how to treat others if no one has taught them anything else? I try to model different behavior and help them understand the consequences of their attitudes and actions so they will be able to have healthy friendships later.

I think that when Draco Malfoy's worldview was first being formed, he didn't have a lot of good input coming in, so his worldview defaulted to the muggle-hating, arrogant, bullying worldview expressed by his father. When he came to Hogwarts he was finally exposed to other kinds of people and other styles of relating. (I assume that prior to Hogwarts he was probably still surrounded by friends and family members who were all part of the same groupthink circle, affirming one another's unhealthy beliefs.) But he was still a child, and he probably still assumed his parents were right and everyone else was wrong.