Chicks On Lit discussion

Books that make you HAPPY

Comments Showing 1-50 of 58 (58 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kim (new)

Kim The other day, someone asked me: Why is so much "good" literature so depressing and have so many dark themes in it? After a LONG talk about the nature of the human being and what we're drawn to and the need for human connection about universal things, I found myself exhausted. As a teacher, I know how important it is to read and discuss all this darkness. But since my daughter was born three and a half years ago, I find myself wanting lighter, happier reads as well. And I think they are JUST as important as the dark stuff. So, as a writer, I'm at work on my second novel and determined to write a FUN book - something that's just fun to read, a little literary, but mostly just something to ENJOY. And as a reader, I am trying to read books right now that make me happy, but that are really well-written and funny and hopeful. So much of the "happy" stuff gets tossed aside as being "fluff" or being "cheesy" and I'm having trouble wading through all that. I'm wondering if people have suggestions for really well-written, good books that are just FUN and make you HAPPY while reading them. Suggestions?

message 2: by Amanda (last edited Mar 03, 2008 05:39PM) (new)

Amanda (randymandy) | 467 comments Oh my god. Kim, that post is soooo LOADED! I can't imagine there being any such thing--not both fun and happy. I can think of fun stuff--Sthepen Colbert's I Am America. I can think of stuff that makes me hopeful--Chronicles of Narnia, About A Boy (movie not book, as I stated in some other thread). None of these are exactly "happy" though. I'm really going to ponder this, Kim. What do the rest of you think? Intriguing...

message 3: by Kim (new)

Kim I know, right? :-) I think a book like The Book of Joe made me feel this way (but not the hopeful part...hmmm....) See, this is why I'm asking!? :-)