Reading the Detectives discussion

Hamlet, Revenge! (Sir John Appleby, #2)
This topic is about Hamlet, Revenge!
Buddy reads > Hamlet, Revenge! - SPOILER thread

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Judy (wwwgoodreadscomprofilejudyg) | 4801 comments Mod
This is the spoiler thread for our buddy read of Hamlet, Revenge! Spoilers can be posted here as it is assumed anyone reading this thread has finished the book.

I enjoyed the various twists but must admit I was confused by some plot elements in this book, and in particular by what the mysterious document is?

I gather it is some type of government paper, but am not sure what type. Also, who were the villains of the piece spying for - Russia?

I'm not very good at keeping track of spy stories, so apologies for my bewilderment.

Susan | 5803 comments Mod
I was bewildered too, don't worry, Judy! I assumed it had something to do with the encroaching war and that it was Germany, rather than Russia, but that was left open I think...

Thank you, Susan, glad to hear it wasn't just me! I suppose I was thinking Russia because the ballerina was Russian, but Germany would make sense too.

I was surprised to see the dictaphone featured in the plot - cutting edge technology for the 1930s! A lot of mysteries seem to feature the latest tech.

The 1930's was an amazing time, with so much political and technological advance. Of course, the forthcoming war would speed up scientific discovery even more, but I just assumed - with hints of war (obviously vague as I am sure the author, like everyone else, hoped it would be avoided!), that we were speaking of Germany. Russia would fit too, obviously, in the times.