Litwit Lounge discussion

Lounge: OPEN, please come in... > Beta Reading Advice Needed

Comments (showing 1-9 of 9) (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Janelle (new)

Janelle (JanelleB) | 703 comments Hi everyone, I'm hoping that you will be able to give me some advice about beta reading. My son is writing a series of books and is hoping to have the first book ready for beta reading soon.
He's looking to me to advise him as to whether or not the book is ready for new eyes, and I'm not sure what to tell him. The book is still a little rough; he's inclined to be wordy and at times his writing is a little immature and stiff.
How polished should his book be before it goes to beta readers?
He's planning on sending it to his readers next month, and hopes to publish at the end of the year.
Thanks for any advice.

message 2: by Nicole (new)

Nicole | 1752 comments As a writer, I advise you to be tactfully honest with your son and tell him some version of what you've said here. It does me no good when someone close to me reads something of mine and refuses to offer any critique.
I think a piece should go through a few drafts before being presented to other eyes. Maybe he should let it sit for a few days before looking through it again. Sometimes it helps to look at one's own work in sections, even out of order. Because the author knows what it should say, but that might not be exactly what's on the page. Also, be sure to run it through spell and grammar check. Have it looking as professional as possible before presenting it to critiquers.

message 3: by Janelle (new)

Janelle (JanelleB) | 703 comments Thanks for your advice, Nicole. From what you have said, his book needs to be fairly polished before it goes beta.