The Humour Club discussion

Writing > Reviews Needed. Like laughing? You might like this...

Comments (showing 1-3 of 3) (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ian (new)

Ian Jarvis | 23 comments Hello there
MX Publishing are releasing my new novel the Music of Sound in September. This is a humorous mystery of 80,000 words and I was wondering if anyone in the group would like an advance copy in exchange for a short review?
After three decades as an operational firefighter, I swapped the hose for a laptop and turned to writing, something I’d been involved in on a part-time basis for several years. I decided to try something different and combine my passions of comedy, the supernatural and a love of Sherlock Holmes. My novel Cat Flap was published by MX last February and is very popular with good reviews. This is the second mystery in the series, with the same characters, but its written as a stand-alone story and there’s no need for the reader to be familiar with Cat Flap.
MX are the world’s largest publisher of Sherlock Holmes. The Music of Sound isn’t a Holmes parody, but anyone familiar with the Conan Doyle stories will spot the updated similarities between the celebrated detective and this private investigator in a modern-day Yorkshire setting. The characters are quirky, like the book titles, and work well in these urban fantasies.
A contemporary Holmes, Bernie Quist is a consultant detective operating from Baker Avenue in the city of York. His eccentric personality and deductive methods resemble the Victorian sleuth and his assistant is named Watson, although this Watson is a black youth from the notorious Grimpen housing estate and he’s definitely no doctor. The mismatched duo take on bizarre cases which invariably lead to the realms of the supernatural, a shadowy world Quist is all too familiar with.
The rear cover reads: