Book Bloggers of Goodreads discussion

All Things Book Blogging > Newbie Questions

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Love is Love (new)

Love is Love Book Reviews (LoveisLoveBookReviews) | 1 comments Hi! I have a new book review blog that just launched today!

Love is Love Book Reviews

Love is Love reviews mostly M/M romance with some other flavors of LGBT romance in the mix occasionally. I hope you all enjoy that "new blog" smell. Obviously, I'm a newbie and I have a couple questions.

1. Do you email authors letting them know when you post a review their book? What about when the review was not requested by the author or publisher?

I'm reviewing books from my personal library right now and I don't know what the protocol is.

2. What's the best way to handle negative reviews?

My initial inclination was to only publish 3-star and above reviews on the blog. I want the blog to be a positive place where readers can find their next great read, not hurt authors whose only crime was writing a book I didn't like. Then I started thinking about the pesky 2-star reviews that would speak to larger issues in the genre... problematic representations of race, class, or sexual identity and consent issues come to mind. I guess I'm just looking for other voices on the topic.

Thanks in advance for your time and patience with my questions.
LiL

message 2: by Judi (new)

Judi Easley Welcome to the crazy world of book review blogging! It's wonderful, really. Though I've not been at it that long myself.

If an author or their reps provides a book and I review it, then I send them an email letting them know that it is posted on my blog. I usually try to let them know about a couple days to a week ahead of time. If I'm reviewing my own library then I don't notify anyone. I do try to always post to Amazon and BN.com as well as my blog. The author will likely see it there.