Addicted to YA discussion

Debates > What Do You Look For In A Story?

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by K.C. (new)

K.C. Hunter (kchunter) | 9 comments So, as an author myself, I am always wondering what people are looking for as readers when they want to find a new story to read.

Is it the characters, the cover, the title, the description, wild environments, lots of worlds, romance, a combination of these?

I'm rather curious as I've heard from some of my readers that there are a variety of things they like but none of them seem to be universal.

message 2: by Abigail (new)

Abigail (trabiagil25) | 34 comments For me, it's an unusual romance. For instance, in His Fair Assassin, the man is ugly and the woman the assassin. It's different and fresh and their love goes beyond beauty.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

For me the characters and the character development are the most important part in a story. For example, you can have a REALLY boring story line but for me, if your characters are interesting, I'll find some sort of enjoyment reading it. On the other hand if you have poorly developed, boring or, the worst of all, a Mary (Gary) Sue as a character your storyline could be the coolest plot anyone had ever made up and still I'll hate it.

But a good cover is not to underestimate. The cover is the first thing you see. It should definitely look appealing.

message 4: by K.C. (new)

K.C. Hunter (kchunter) | 9 comments So what would you say Anika are examples of good covers? I'm a bit indecisive about mine right now (although I'm told they are better than a few years ago).

message 5: by Lisa (new)

Lisa (lisapren) | 58 comments a big plot twist you cant see coming.Something that makes you stop and just think wtf just happened

message 6: by Elle (new)

Elle Harriet Silver (elleharrietsilver) | 25 comments Interesting characters and a strong plot.

message 7: by Natasha (new)