The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

SUMMER CHALLENGE 2017 > 20.5 - Bigger is Better - Jukka's Task: SF, F, and WTF

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by SRC Moderator (last edited Jun 04, 2017 07:12PM) (new)

SRC Moderator | 4516 comments Mod
20.5 - Bigger is Better - Jukka's Task: SF, F, & WTF
This challenge's time period will see a culmination of a project I have been working on since 2013, the 75th World Science Fiction Convention in Helsinki. I've flown tens thousands of kilometres for it, read thousands of pages for it, spent hundreds of hours talking to people about it, and all that work will pay off over five days in August. I've met many wonderful new friends along the way and seen places I otherwise never would have. Like Spokane. Lovely town, but not an intuitive vacation destination, you know?

Read ONE book from the following options. The genres "Sequential Art", "Comics", "Comic Book", and "Manga" are approved for this task. REQUIRED: State in your post the option you chose.

Option A: The Hugo Awards ceremony will be held at Worldcon on August 11th. The awards are the Worldcon community's way of showing their appreciation of the past year's finest work, and the list of past winners since 1953 are a showcase of the major trends in science fiction over the past half-century.

Read a book that has been a Hugo Award finalist, past or present. These Wikipedia pages may be of help: Hugo Award for Best Novel, Hugo Award for Best Novella, Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story, and Hugo Award for Best Related Work.

Note that not all novellas are SRC-eligible due to length. In cases when the finalist is an entire series, any single book from that series suffices.

REQUIRED: If the Goodreads metadata doesn't indicate that the book was a Hugo finalist, indicate in your post the category and year that it was a Hugo finalist.