Support for Indie Authors discussion

Ebook Publishing > Is it possible to specify our book start page when self-publishing to Amazon?

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachele (new)

Rachele Baker (rachelebakerdvm) Hi everyone,

I self-published my first book back in 2012. I am almost finished writing my second book (7 Simple Ways To Keep Your Dog Healthy - I am a veterinarian), and I plan to use the front matter to try to get readers to join to my mailing list.

I have noticed that when I open new e-books to read on my tablet (with a Kindle app), that the books automatically open to the first page of the first chapter. A reader has to manually flip backwards if he or she wants to read the front matter.

This makes it unlikely that readers will even see the front matter.

Does anyone know if there is a way to specify that the e-book automatically opens to the cover page instead of to the first page of the first chapter?

-Rachele

message 2: by Christina (new)

Christina McMullen (cmcmullen) Not really, but sort of. You can add the "start" bookmark, but I'm pretty sure the only time they ever stick with this vs setting their own is if there is a dedication of something before the first chapter. You might consider adding that to the back of the book instead of the front because honestly, most people won't engage until they've read the book and decided they want more. At the end, it's still fresh in their mind. At the front, they might not remember to go back and look.

message 3: by Heidi (new)

Heidi Angell (heidiangell) | 241 comments I put mine in the front (for people looking at samples.) and back. I hate that Amazon does the set up the way that they do. People never see my dedication page, thank you page, or prolog. So annoying. But to be fair, Amazon sets it that way because the average reader doesn't really care about that stuff.

message 4: by Rachele (new)