World, Writing, Wealth discussion

Wealth & Economics > Where the markup is the biggest?

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nik (new)

Nik Krasno | 13438 comments Unless it's something charitable, liquidation, foreclosure and other special occasions, all products, services, works are traded with a markup. The more expensive one can sell something the better. Competition and supervision, where applicable, can be a restraining factor, other than that anything goes.
When working in a student's night club as a student, I remember the bar manager telling me they sold beer seven times more than its cost.
Media claims Gillette's markup on razors may exceed 4,000 % : http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/bi...
And I remember shaving market studies reported very high manufacturer's loyalty rates.

And of course, there are industries where a markup is only a few percent.
Perfume, printer toner also probably enjoy a decent markup.
Not relying on market forces to regulate the pricing, some states envisage supervision on prices limiting them to cost + __% for basic survival products.

Where in your experience the markup is the biggest? Should markup always be unlimited in your opinion?

message 2: by Scout (new)

Scout (goodreadscomscout) | 5332 comments I want to grow some summer squash. I went to a retailer today and found a plant priced at $5.49. I then went inside and bought a packet of 20 seeds for $1.29. Seems like a big markup to me, even considering labor and materials and a jump on the growing season.

message 3: by Marie Silk (new)

Marie Silk | 1020 comments Medical and dental. IMO there should be regulation on how much of a markup is allowed in these industries.

Then there's higher education where textbooks run in the hundreds of dollars...

message 4: by Ian (new)