Romance Writers & Readers discussion

Fun & Random > A nifty gadget - let's make it niftier!

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Eric (new)

Eric Plume (ericplume) | 66 comments Okay, so a friend of mine who is also a romance author linked this picture to me and really wants me to make her one:

description

I'm a carpenter, so building what's pictured wouldn't be hard. However, my do-it-better instincts are already buzzing with ways this nifty idea could be improved.

My first beef; it would be way too easy for an errant knee to knock the contents of the board into the bath...and in my view, drowning's an awful fate for both good wine and an e-reader. So far all I can think of is suction cups to hold the thing in place, but the pragmatist in me says that's not sturdy enough.

Second beef; sure, cutting a slot in the board for an e-reader is a great notion, but not all readers are sized the same. two small blocks spaced to hold a variety of readers at a specific angle would be more functional.

It's a great basic idea though. Anyone else have any suggestions? I do plan on building these for the women in my life. ;)

message 2: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Jesinghaus (jessjesinghhaus) | 37 comments Showing this to my hubby. Could be awesome.

message 3: by Jane (new)

Jane Blythe Looks pretty cool, I'm not a bath person though, because I get bored when I just sit and don't do anything, actually I usually prefer to be doing at least two things at one time so just reading in the bath would make me edgy, but I am positive that you'll manage to improve it, I like both your ideas already!

message 4: by Mary Ellen (last edited Feb 03, 2017 06:02AM) (new)