UK Amazon Kindle Forum discussion

Agony Aunt > Need clarification on English version

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jagriti (new)

Jagriti (Abhinita) | 201 comments Hello Everybody

I am new to goodreads and self-publishing. This may be a silly question but it's bothered me for sometime. Will really appreciate if someone can clarify for me please.

My book was uploaded in US English on Amazon.com. Will this automatically be available in UK English in UK or do I need to upload the book again in UK English.

How dose the version thing work's. Ideally, I want to leave the choice with the reader. Is there some way to do this? Or is it already available.

Myself I have bought many books on kindle, but never have actually bothered with this before.

Look forward to your help. Thank you in advance!

Patti (baconater) (goldengreene) | 61757 comments Sorry. I can't even.

I haven't the patience this evening.

message 3: by Kath (new)

Kath Middleton | 25061 comments The same version will be on all Amazon sites. However, I know it's possible to uploads two different versions to .com and .co.uk. I've never done it, though, as my writing is unashamedly English. I think they will help if you query it with Kindle Direct Publishing.

message 4: by Jim (new)

Jim | 21836 comments Just to second Kath
Actually English people are far more forgiving of American English than Americans are of proper grown up English ;-)

message 5: by Chris (last edited Jan 27, 2017 12:57PM) (new)

Chris Robb (chrisrobb) | 1738 comments Yes you do need to upload two different versions. You can have the same title, but they will have different ASINs and you will have two of the same title on your KDP Bookshelf.

Don't forget there are many other territories that will expect US English if you go that route. It's fairly obvious on the list.