World, Writing, Wealth discussion

All Things Writing & Publishing > Should refunds be allowed for ebooks?

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Segilola (new)

Segilola Salami (segilolasalami) | 405 comments As a self published author, I dedicate a considerable amount of time soliciting for reviews for my books.

In addition to the reviews, retailers like Amazon have a look inside feature that allows potential readers to read the first few pages of a book to see if it meets their needs.

Now if after reading the reviews and the first few pages a reader decides to buy that ebook, should that person then be entitled to a full refund? Considering that an ebook is a digital product that once received is theoretically consumed immediately.

In the UK for instance, there are a lot of retailers that do not give cash refunds, instead they give you a gift card/credit note to use to make another purchase. One of the conditions for refund is that the product has not been used and is returned in its original packaging undamaged if you simply change your mind.

But with a digital product, reading the book in my opinion is consuming it. No one goes to a restaurant, eats a plate of food completely and asks for a refund. So why should ebooks be any different? Wouldn't it be in line with what other retailers are doing to say that a gift card be issued to be redeemed against another book written by an author?

I have read of one instance where a reader buys a book, reads it, enjoys it but still asks for a refund.

What are your thoughts on this?

message 2: by Aaron (new)

Aaron Kennedy | 11 comments One of the issues with Ebooks is the potential for a "corrupted copy." It's entirely possible to get an ebook where the formatting is so bad as to be unreadable. Not necessarily through the Author's fault, but through the transmission medium (like Amazon).