Fans of Eloisa James & Julia Quinn discussion

24 views
Monday Puzzler > Monday Puzzler 10 Oct 16 - Hound of Hell

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Hill | 487 comments Ok, this book series is quirky, i like it. This scene is cute - i like when he gets all distracted and says 'Hm' for her to point out how distracted he was :)

No gaunt, scarred pirate with a knife hovered over her this time. No calm, confident soldier, either. No blue eyes looked at her with concern. Instead, beady, bloodshot eyes watched her from mere inches away from her face.

Great gods, a hound of hell was about to claim her soul for the Devil! Huge, slavering jaws opened, showing long white fangs in the wrinkled, Stygian dark face. She screamed again.

The beast let out a howl, then scrambled under the bed, thumping and bumping until Heroine feared the whole structure would collapse, tossing her to those gnashing teeth. Should she try to escape out the door, or look for a weapon? What weapon was effective
against a demon sent by Satan? How could she hope to outrun her fate? The demon was keening loudly enough to wake the dead anyway.

Then the door burst open. “What the deuce?”

The beast bounded up from under the bed and threw itself at a man wearing nothing but a towel and a few drops of water. He was Lord Hero, Heroine recalled, Lady Godmother’s son, her own rescuer. Now she had to rescue him. She grabbed up her pillow, to go to the viscount’s aid. Maybe together they could smother the creature. No, there was water in the pitcher by her bedside. Perhaps she could blind the creature, or bash it over the head.

But Lord Hero was petting the beast, telling the huge animal that she was safe. “Good girl.”

“Good . . . girl?”

He nodded, one hand on the dog’s collar, the other at the towel at his waist. “Her name is Verity. I am sorry if she frightened you, but she means no harm. And I can see you are feeling more the thing. Your lungs are working well, at any rate.”

Now Heroine felt a blush rising from her shoulders to her cheeks. She was standing atop a
mattress in a too-large borrowed night rail, brandishing a pillow and a pitcher of water. And a half-naked man was watching her chest heave with each gasping breath. She could not help but notice that his own chest—with its downy black line of hair and sharply defined planes and hollows—was also heaving, likely from a mad dash from his bath. The idea of Lord Hero at his bath was enough to make her already reddened cheeks turn scarlet. Not that she took her eyes away from the rippling muscles and broad shoulders. Oh, no. Who knew when she would get another chance to see a gentleman’s bare chest again, if ever? Whatever precepts of polite behavior she’d had drilled into her head since she could walk and talk flew right out the window, with the eagle of her dreams. Lord Hero was flesh and blood, and she was no longer constrained by the tenets of the ton. No one expected an accused murderess to simper. So she stared.


Now it was Hero’s turn to blush—for perhaps the first time in ten years. Lud, the female was looking at him as if he were a fancy bonnet in a shop window, no, a bonbon on a platter that she was thinking of tasting, of biting and licking and—and if she wet her lips one more time with her pink tongue, the towel was not going to be enough to save both of them from more embarrassment. “I apologize for my undress, and for Verity’s disturbing your rest. Please get back under the covers.” Where the fire’s light could not outline her slender figure through the white lawn nightdress. She bent to put the pitcher back on the bedside table and he drew in a breath at the sight of her rounded bottom. Good grief, he had been without a woman too long if he was drooling over a sickly female with a noose hanging over her head, almost literally. “Please get down, you have been too sick to be so active.” He’d help her, but that would take two hands, and he needed one at the hastily tied knot of the towel.

She was feeling dizzy, actually, but she did not want to go back to sleep, or to have him leave. “That is your dog?”

“Hm?”

He’d been watching her smooth out her nightgown, then gracefully slide under the blankets. She was sitting up, though, with her breasts uncovered except for the gown’s thin fabric. He could make out the dark shadow of her nipples, and wondered if she really was a virgin, or a hardened seductress. Rumors had her meeting a lover, according to his information. If she were already bachelor fare . . .

“I suppose the beast must be yours, the way it is drooling on your foot.”


message 2: by Dls (new)

Dls | 2094 comments Mod
Definitely haven't read this.


message 3: by Susan (new)

Susan (shaydock) | 709 comments I have not read but oh my how sweet


message 4: by Janga (new)

Janga | 1070 comments Mod
I don't know the book. I'm fairly sure I haven't read it, but, based on the "beast," I have an educated guess for the author.


message 5: by Susan (new)

Susan (susaninaz) | 1018 comments He's drooling over her nipples, Dog is drooling on his foot, and She's licking her lips. Too funny.


message 6: by Stacey (new)

Stacey (staceyissassy) | 1278 comments Doesn't seem familiar, but I'm interested. :-) ♥


message 7: by Irisheyes (new)

Irisheyes | 896 comments I have no clue. I usually remember books with dogs and/or kids in them and this one isn't ringing any bells! LOL


message 8: by Manda (new)

Manda Collins (manda_collins) | 1917 comments Mod
I don't have a clue.


message 9: by Leigh-Ayn (new)

Leigh-Ayn | 1186 comments hahahahahahha Love it!!!


message 10: by Missy (new)

Missy (dustigal) | 8 comments Really sounds familiar but can't place it. Looking forward to re-reading it.


message 11: by Nicole (new)

Nicole (nikanne) | 222 comments Sounds great! I have no idea what it is.


message 12: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Hill | 487 comments It's Truly Yours (Royce Lie Detectors) by Barbara Metzger by Barbara Metzger. Its a fun semi-paranormal series. It is not by any means a serious set of books but I always really liked it, a solid 4 over all. Hope you all give it a go!


message 13: by Janga (new)

Janga | 1070 comments Mod
I thought it was Metzger. I thought I had read most of her books, but I missed this one. I've added it to my TBR list.


message 14: by Manda (new)

Manda Collins (manda_collins) | 1917 comments Mod
Sometimes a light Regency is just what the doctor ordered! I haven't read Metzger in years, but she's been pretty prolific. I need to chevk this one out!


back to top

unread topics | mark unread


Books mentioned in this topic

Truly Yours (other topics)