Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Amazon Royalties Questions?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Adam (new)

Adam Chance | 39 comments Hi everyone. I'm new to self publishing & amazon so please bear with me while I ask what for some may be a couple of dumb questions.

Firstly I noticed that despite getting daily book sales my 'royalties earned' on the main sales dashboard hasn't increased since the 27th of September. I have had only one book refunded during this time.

Also could someone please explain how kindle unlimited payments are made? Are they stand alone payments or are they included with the general royalties within their specific marketplace? I don't know if this makes any difference but I elected to be paid by cheque.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

message 2: by Morris (new)

Morris Graham (morris_g) KU are paid by the page only if they get read. Conceivably, I could be a KU customer, download it and lose my kindle and never read it, and you won't get paid.

message 3: by Adam (new)

Adam Chance | 39 comments Hi Morris. I know KU pays per page read but I have already had many thousands of pages read (it gives you figures in the sales dashboard) I just don't know how amazon go about paying the author for this?

message 4: by Morris (new)

Morris Graham (morris_g) Yeah, my royalties have not gone up in three days on the chart, but I've had 913, 762 and 881 pages read the last three days. I'm not sure when they pay on that. Here is what the graph says about the pages read....

View the total number of Kindle Edition Normalized Pages (KENP) read for your selected title(s) in your chosen time period. This graph is updated as pages are read by customers who borrow your book from Kindle Unlimited (KU) and the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library (KOLL). Use the filters above to customize your data.