Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Marketing No New Posts > Getting started with ad sites

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Elí (new)

Elí Freysson (eli_freysson) I sought advice on GR, and I got it.

I have a list of things I'm going to attempt to get my books noticed more, and I'm going to start by giving ad sites a try. I'm going to do a free promotion of one of my fantasy novels, while also running ads on sites so people will actually notice it.

One bit of advice Morris gave me was to start with the third in the trilogy, as people will snatch up a free book and then buy the first two, then do the same with the second and save the first for last.

This does sound like a good trick, but I'd just like to get some more opinions on it. The third in the series does have the coolest cover, in my opinion, but also only seven reviews to the original's fifteen.

Anyway, I've never done this before, but here is my rough plan for now:

*Set the third book to be free for 2-3 days a week or two from now.
*Make use of Book Barbarian, Armadillo Ebooks, Book Raid, and Just Kindle Books, and their service for free ebooks.
*Do the same for another book a couple of weeks later.

How does this sound?

message 2: by Christina (new)

Christina McMullen (cmcmullen) Moved to marketing and promo folder.

Honestly? As a reader, I would see through the attempt and avoid the series. The whole point of a free first in series is to see whether or not folks would want to take a chance and spend money on the other books. Plus, you'll note when you read their submission guidelines, Book Barbarian will only promote next in series with the first.

message 3: by Morris (last edited Aug 01, 2016 02:54PM) (new)