Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Using a writing coach

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Marguerite (new)

Marguerite Mooers (margueritemooers) | 16 comments I am a self published author and now after three novels I am beginning to feel the need for a wise reader and sometime cheerleader. I am wondering if anyone out there has used a person like this and what was your experience. Thanks for your input.
Peggy

message 2: by Ken (new)

Ken (kendoyle) | 364 comments I have a family member who is also an indie author. It was definitely helpful for my first book to exchange notes and discuss the struggles of writing/publishing.

There are professional writing coaches, but I don't think I would be willing to sign up for a paid service. If you can find a writing buddy and both of you benefit from the exchange, I think that's the best way to do it.

message 3: by J. (new)

J. Rose | 10 comments Hi Marguerite!

I would not have a completed book WITHOUT 2 readers and 2 professional edits. I actually ended up taking a fiction writing class to test some of the material and met 2 ladies that started a private reading/writing group with me and we all helped each other. When their writing fizzled out, the group became about finishing my book and I was so blessed! We met twice a month, I would give them a chapter, they would dissect it, and we would discuss it and usually argue lol because they got to know my characters so well they could challenge me. Without that input plus a professional to do a story edit once I completed the first draft, I would be nowhere fast.