Imagination Station discussion

Help/Advice > When to begin writing?

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dylan (new)

Dylan (dna89) | 3 comments I am about to start my fourth novel, but it's my first time taking a crack at one since high school.

In the past, I have always just started writing with a vague idea of where the plot was headed - and I think that's because my past novels were so character driven. Now I have a much more elaborate idea in my head (no longer the high school girl-meets-girl type of book), but I don't know where to start.

Or should I say, when to start.

Writers: do you start with a vague idea and run with it? Or do you plan everything out? I need help.

message 2: by Leo (new)

Leo (owlseeyoulater) | 12 comments Don't know why no one's replied yet, but I'll give it a shot.

I can't speak for everyone but for me it kind of happens organically at first. I'll sometimes get a scene, character, plot idea or piece of dialog that pops into my head and ill jot it down. (I'm sure I'm not unique in this). Sometimes nothing comes of it and other times it begins to ballon out, with more snippets of story coming to me randomly as I try to quickly jot down what pops into my head.

I guess to answer your question I start with a vague idea and it begins to feed all of the details after that. When I have a more fleshed out characters/scenes that's when I begin to piece the story together.

I will then arrange a timeline and place scenes/dialog/plot points on that timeline in the order I think they belong and then write notes about settings, mood, characters, plot.

Interspersed between all of this I do begin to write out the chapters, making corrections and changing things on every pass to conform with notes or changes in the timeline I've made, etc.