Victorians! discussion

Archived Group Reads 2016 > FFTMC - Week 6

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rose (last edited Jun 19, 2016 02:26PM) (new)

Rose Rocha dos Santos (roserocha) | 33 comments Hi, everyone!

This week's reading is about: Chapter 49 (Oak's advancement: a great hope) - Chapter 57 (A foggy night and morning: conclusion).

So, this is the final week and here you can post anything about these chapters or about the whole book, if you want (conclusions and the link to your reviews too).

It was awesome to discuss the book with all of you! I certainly learned a lot!

message 2: by Frances (new)

Frances (francesab) | 296 comments This was one of those books that I absolutely loved and felt somewhat bereft when it finished-I'm new to Hardy and can't believe that I didn't discover him earlier. I will definitely be voting for other Hardy's in the future.

Boldwood's development and the final revelations of his behaviour-his obsession with Bathsheba and his essentially stalking her-was quite Psychologically accurate, I think. I had had a lot of sympathy for him until he this section, when his attentions and his insistence on her promising to marry him in 6 years became quite frightening, and Bathsheba clearly felt intimidated and guilty about having driven him to this sort of madness by her early thoughtless behaviour, when of course he must have been somewhat unstable to begin with, and her one foolish action set in motion a train of mental instability which ultimately ruined him. How easy it is to blame the woman for "driving him to madness".

Gabriel, on the other hand, consciously or unconsciously played his hand superbly. I think he was only avoiding Bathsheba and planning to leave to protect himself from his love for her, but it had the wonderful effect of showing Bathsheba how much she cared for him and relied on him. Hardy sums up beautifully