Catching up on Classics (and lots more!) discussion

2016 Old & New Classic Challenge > Josh's Old and New Classic Challenge

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Josh (last edited Sep 22, 2016 11:54AM) (new)

Josh (jaygold) | 49 comments I joined the group a month or so ago, but I just found this challenge thread. I am hoping it is suitable for me to join still.

I am just beginning to familiarize myself with classic works, so please share any knowledge you have so my 2017 challenge can be much better. I don't mind setting my challenge for 12 books despite having half a year left. Hopefully I won't regret this later...

Also, if anyone has suggestions for acquiring some classic works for free in a legitimate and quality way, please share. I know Amazon has some of these for free already.

Josh's 12 + 2 Classic Challenge

1899 and earlier
1. The Tell-Tale Heart
2. The Odyssey
3. War and Peace

1900-1999
4. Brave New World
5. Fahrenheit 451
6. The Hobbit

My Wild Card Six
7. A Short History of Nearly Everything
8. The Autobiography of Malcolm X
9. Snow Crash
10. War of Worlds
11. The Source
12. The Complete Robot

Alternate
1. War
2. The Giver

message 2: by Veronique (new)

Veronique | 889 comments It's never too late :0) Good selection.

message 3: by Darren (new)

Darren (dazburns) | 1825 comments for out-of-copyright stuff, where Amazon may still charge a small amount, Project Gutenberg quite often has for free

message 4: by Josh (new)

Josh (jaygold) | 49 comments Darren wrote: "for out-of-copyright stuff, where Amazon may still charge a small amount, Project Gutenberg quite often has for free"

I've heard of this website. Do you use a third party to transfer the ebooks to your Kindle / ereader?

message 5: by Josh (new)

Josh (jaygold) | 49 comments Veronique wrote: "It's never too late :0) Good selection."

Thanks for the encouragement. The two thousand-pagers intimidate me a little. Lol.