Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > DIY eBook Instructions (from a complete n00b)

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Annie (last edited Jun 12, 2016 03:52AM) (new)

Annie Arcane (anniearcane) | 629 comments Hiya everyone,

I received a PM from a friend asking for DIY instructions on how to create a MOBI and thought, “Huh, I wonder if anyone else would like to know too.” Sooo, if I’m being annoying, please ignore. If I’m breaking any rules, please delete. Just do whatever the heck makes you happy LOL. Anyhoo, here’s my long-winded response to her:

Okie dokie, ma'am. First things first, you should know that I have ZERO clue what I'm doing. I have literally deployed my google gopher every single step of the way. With that being said *gulps* I shall do my best to help ya with my extremely limited, 100% self-taught experience...

There are actually a few different ways to whip up an ebook. This is a pretty decent overview if you wanna take a look-see:

http://www.thebookdesigner.com/2015/0...

Personally, I refuse to tinker with html because...well...I don’t know a darn thing about it hahaha. I also know of authors who use Scrivener and InDesign to export directly to ePub. As for me? I go the super duper simple route and make a Word document of my manuscript following these formatting instructions:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/253618...

Afterward, I just chuck the file into Caliber (you’ll have to download and install: http://calibre-ebook.com) and click “convert” to ePub, MOBI, PDF, etc. Keep in mind, though, that my books are pretty much text-only. If you're looking to embed images or tables, I can’t promise this method will work.

Heh. Here’s what I learnt from a whackload of failed attempts *headdesk*:

1. Do not use tab or extra spaces anywhere. At all. Add a first line indent instead.
2. Save the file in .docx. Most people actually use .doc or .pdf. Didn’t work for me.