Editors and Writers discussion

Questions from a new editor for the pros

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Angela Bee Bee (new)

Angela Bee Bee (gardangels) | 8 comments I've been doing some free editing for a voluntary writing event here at GR, to get my feet wet and get my work flow all set.
I think I'm good at it and I'll enjoy editing, and hopefully make some money.

Some questions;
1)confidentiality, what is the culture regarding reviewing, rating, discussing books you've edited?
And how do you tell your client they can trust you?
I'd like to create some sort of confidentiality statement on my website.

2)what are some good websites where editors discuss work and get new clients?

3) what are the considerations of applying for an editing position at a publisher versus going freelance. Seems like the market is flooded with editors in both areas.

My background is in technical writing. I'm editing romance novels. I'm planning to work for free for another month or two, then try either applying with publishers or going freelance.

message 2: by Harrison (new)

Harrison Demchick | 19 comments I'll field the third one, because my transition to freelance came after a lot of years in traditional publishing and a lot of thought went into it.

The tricky thing about seeking an editorial position at a publishing house is that publishers are shrinking rather than growing. They're shrinking due to the now hugely significant number of authors who prefer to self-publish. The advantage, then, of being a freelancer is that you can work with authors who self-publish *and* authors who want a terrific, polished manuscript to send to publishers and agents.