The Diverse Shelf discussion

General > So, who are you? (Introduction thread)

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Byron, The Queer One (new)

Byron Gann (thedahlingdarling) | 60 comments Mod
Greetings and salutations!

Please take a moment to tell us about yourself and what you like to read!

I'll go ahead and start.

I'm Byron Ann. I'm 24 years old and currently living in Alabama where I go to school for anthropology with hopes of (someday, fingers crossed) getting my degree in linguistics. I work in customer service currently, have for the last 8 years. It's not bad work, but not great.

I spend most of my time playing video games and reading - or at least thinking about reading. I seem to have more time to think about doing it than actually doing it now-a-days.

I read a lot of young adult books (you're never too old for a good YA novel), urban fantasy, high fantasy, and mystery novels. I really love series. Stand alone books are great - but falling in love with characters and finding out the adventure is not over, well that's a great feeling.

Diverse books are important to me because as a queer individual I spent most of my childhood not knowing that other people had the same struggles, I spent most of my childhood not knowing I was normal because even the books I escaped into didn't acknowledge I was real.

I was inspired to start this group in response to the #WeNeedDiverseBooks movement ( Check them out here! ) currently happening on Tumblr and Twitter and while I have no official affiliation to the group, I feel it's an important message to send and one more voice in the crowd is bound to help. :)

message 2: by Meredith (new)

Meredith (mabith) | 33 comments Mod
Hello! I'm Meredith, I'm 29, I'm disabled and bisexual. Currently living in my home state, West Virginia. When I could still work I ran the local, indepedent bookstore with my sister.