Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

III. Goodreads Readers > Question for Reviewers regarding Author Feedback

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tammy (last edited Mar 06, 2016 04:11PM) (new)

Tammy Bailey (tammylbailey) | 13 comments Hello,

I'm a debut author and have received two excellent reviews from Reading Alley for my book, Lord Bachelor, in the last few days. My question is, as a reviewer, do you prefer not to receive a response from the author? I always feel compelled to thank a reviewer for their time, but I've also read to never respond whether you receive a positive or negative review. I'd just like to get a consensus on what reviewers prefer.

Thanks,

Tammy L. Bailey

message 2: by Jim (new)

Jim Vuksic | 1038 comments Tammy wrote: "Hello,

I'm a debut author and have received two excellent reviews from Reading Alley for my book, Lord Bachelor, in the last few days. My question is, as a reviewer, do you prefer not to receive ..."

Tammy,

Very few readers ever post a consumer review. Those that do routinely post reviews do so to share their subjective, personal opinion of a book with other readers, not as a personal message to the author.

Most literary websites and periodicals recommend that authors not contact a reviewer.

message 3: by Tammy (new)

Tammy Bailey (tammylbailey) | 13 comments Hi Jim,

Thanks for your response.

message 4: by Sandy (new)

Sandy Hi Tammy. Congrats on the great reviews. I know some recommend you don't get in touch but as a reviewer, I have to say when an author has gotten in touch with me re: my review, it's always been a positive experience (even if my review wasn't).

message 5: by J.D. (new)