A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1) A Game of Thrones discussion


442 views
RECOMMENDATIONS?! What to read next?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

Sandra I finished Game of Thrones a few weeks ago and absolutely freaking loved it to the last page. I'm going to continue on with the series of course. I just recently got into fantasy books, so i need good recommendations on what i should read next. Something along the lines of Blood Song by Anthony Ryan and GoT. It would be even better if it had a tiny bit of romance in it, and was a fairly new released book (this year?). But i don't mind if it's not!


Brian This may be too ambitious if you just got into fantasy, but Steven Erikson's Malazan series is often considered the only other contender for best fantasy series of the past twenty years. It is 10 books long, exceedingly complex, but it is finished! It takes a lot of effort for the reader, much more so than A Song of Ice and Fire (which is complex in its own right), but it is likely the most "epic" series ever made.

As I said though, it is meant for experienced fantasy readers. Maybe try Joe Abercrombie's First Law Trilogy. It is gritty like Martin, but more focused on a handful of characters vs. world building.

Also, Brandon Sanderson is possibly my favorite fantasy author, but he is not very similar to Martin. Still, most would agree that the Mistborn Trilogy is fantastic.


Jonathan Brian wrote: "Maybe try Joe Abercrombie's First Law Trilogy. It is gritty like Martin, but more focused on a handful of characters vs. world building."
I cannot endorse Abercrombie's The First Law books enough. I read the first novel in the trilogy, and I'm hooked. If you prefer to indulge in darker works of fantasy, it's a very worthwhile read.


Nathan Eaton I've recently started with the Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch. The first book, The Lies of Locke Lamora was fantastic, and the second was great as well. They're exciting, and do a great job of taking you to a new world.


Bill Golden Brian wrote: "Maybe try Joe Abercrombie's First Law Trilogy."

Oh, don't stop with his First Law trilogy. Go ahead and read Best Served Cold, The Heroes, and Red Country when you are done. Abercrombie is very good at taking the conventions of a genre, putting it in a fantasy setting, and then gleefully kicking those cliches right in the head.


Marc Jones Im gonna echo others and say Joe Abercombies first law trilogy is a must read.......and why your their why not read everything else hes written.
Steven Erikson's Malazan series is a another great series to jump into (sadly way behind in the series).
I would add Mark Lawrences Broken empire trilogy to the list, its pretty grim but compelling stuff.


Hector I got into fantasy books maybe 2 to 3 years ago and there's a lot of stuff out good and not so good. These are some series that were
recommended to me and I really liked. The First Law Trilogy. The Mistborn Trilogy. The Riyria Revelations. My favorite is Malazan Book Of The Fallen . I just finished my second go around the series and I know I'll visit it again .


message 8: by Ken (last edited May 06, 2014 03:43PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ken Easily this.

Gene Wolfe

Everything this guy has written, especially "The Book of the New Sun".

David Mitchell
This guy too. Especially "number9dream".

Ursula K. Le Guin
And this immensely talented lady.


Felicia Has anyone read 'Orcs Bad Blood'? Can those be recommended, if you are a fair fan of things like 'Game of Thrones' and 'Lord of the Rings'?


message 10: by Marc (last edited May 07, 2014 08:27AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Marc Jones I wouldnt really recommend Stan Nicholls Orc series, it a little to high fantasy, the characters are rather flat and the writing is not really in the same leagues as many of those recommended....and it may ruin the way you think of unicorn horn for the rest of your life.
They are however great little books to read when you want something easy going and action packed.


Hannah Hanson This is not in the fantasy genre but I'd highly recommend 'Crime and Punishment' by Dostoevsky. Takes a bit to get used to it.

Or the Darren Shan Saga. I always flick back to these when I am mulling over a new book.


Renée Mistborn and Stormlight Archives, both by Brandon Sanderson!


message 13: by Marina (new)

Marina Just finish this series and never read anything ever again. These books spoiled all other books for me...
I tried reading other similar series, but the standards are just too high now. If they aren't pushing kids out of windows in the first 4 chapters, then I loose interest...


Brian Marina - have you tried Abercrombie or Erikson? Although, neither series truly hits its stride until the second book.


message 15: by Elisa Santos (new)

Elisa Santos It´s a litle old but why not try The Mists of Avalon, by Marion Zimmer Bradley? It was the only other fantasy books that i was able to enjoy. And i am not a particular fan of fantasy...


Jeremy If your just getting in, The Warded Man by PeterV Brett is good. 3 out of the 5 are written (the demon cylcle seiries). I was impressed with it.

Also, Mages Blood by David Hair (part of the Moontide Quartet) and BloodSong by Anthony Ryan in the Raven's Shadow series!


Akash Goel George RR Martin himself suggested "The Accursed Kings" heptology to anyone who wishes to bide the time until his next release. The first one in the series, "The Iron King", is a pretty fantastic read.


message 18: by Iris (new) - rated it 4 stars

Iris Definitely check out "The Broken Empire" Series (Book one: Prince of Thorns, Book two: King Of Thorns, Book three: Emperor of Thorns) by Mark Lawrence. It is without a doubt one of the best fantasy series I have ever read. And if you like that check out his new Prince of Fools series which comes out this june.


Akash Goel What a coincidence! Just finished watching the animated Avatar series. Loved Toff!


message 20: by Iris (new) - rated it 4 stars

Iris Akash wrote: "What a coincidence! Just finished watching the animated Avatar series. Loved Toff!"

I know! She was my favorite character. Just so kick ass.


Akash Goel And funny too! EarthTent™ is the coolest.


message 22: by Iris (new) - rated it 4 stars

Iris I kinda wish she ended up with Aang, but that's neither here nor there...


Akash Goel Exactly, Kitara seemed apt for Zuko. Technically speaking, they did have sparks about them (pun intended).


Chris Jones If you want more from the same universe I'd recommend the Dunk and Egg novellas (The Hedge Knight, The Sworn Sword, The Mystery Knight) GRRM's written. They're quick, they're great, the only problem is finding copies unless you come across a .pdf of them online.

GRRM also released another novella about a Targaryen queen called "The Princess and the Queen" last year. It's published in a collection called "Dangerous Women" I think. I haven't read it so I have no idea if it's good.


message 25: by Iris (new) - rated it 4 stars

Iris The writers originally intended Katara for Zuko but most fans at the time thought that she was meant for Aang because he was the hero and Zuko was the villain. That's why you see the flirtatious glances between the two and why the chemistry seems so right. It was kind of a last minute change.


message 26: by Iris (new) - rated it 4 stars

Iris Chris wrote: "If you want more from the same universe I'd recommend the Dunk and Egg novellas (The Hedge Knight, The Sworn Sword, The Mystery Knight) GRRM's written. They're quick, they're great, the only proble..."

It is pretty good. It doesn't have his 'A Song of Ice and Fire' voice but the story is still very interesting. Very detailed and sad.


Brian Akash wrote: "Also, The Inheritance Cycle series. (Does the name Eragon ring a bell?)"

Why would you recommend Eragon to someone who just finished Martin? Please stay away.


message 28: by Otto (new) - rated it 5 stars

Otto Ok, i know is difficult and is bad to compare the nice work of Martin, but i'm currently reading the series "Winds of forelands" by David B. Coe, the first book is called "Rules of ascension" the name said, so, have intrigue, blood, fantasy, and is hard to stop reading, now, the book was discontinued (I DON'T KNOW WHY, THERE ALOT SHITTY BOOKS AND YOU CAN FIND EASILY)anyway, you can find it on barnes and noble, en amazon (only kindle) or ebay (used), i buyed 3 of the series on ebay, only 10.00. So, if you liked let me know it, i want to discuss the book :) Rules of Ascension (Winds of the Forelands, #1) by David B. Coe


Chiara I would recommend the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. There is romance, magic, philosophy, and great detail. Also, dragons.


Carolina Velasco Renée wrote: "Mistborn and Stormlight Archives, both by Brandon Sanderson!"

Agreed, love Brandon Sanderson. I would also recommend The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan.


Hillary Major Agree w/the Abercrombie recs. For something older, but on a grand scale a la Martin & with some romance, I recommend Melanie Rawn's Dragon Prince and sequels.


message 32: by Ken (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ken Terry Goodkind? do you want the original poster to stop reading fantasy forever after a bad experience?


Brian Kenneth wrote: "Terry Goodkind? do you want the original poster to stop reading fantasy forever after a bad experience?"

LOL. Agreed. Whenever these threads pop up, some just recommend whatever fantasy they like instead of considering the poster's tastes. Goodkind and Paolini are terrible choices for someone coming off of Martin.


Carolina Velasco Goodkind is just a terrible choice. I can also make things up as I go along.


message 35: by Marc (last edited May 19, 2014 07:04AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Marc Jones I remember reading Goodkinds first book when I was much younger and quite enjoying it......I decided to give the rest of his series a try.....
Noble goats, Evil chickens and very very very very long speeches were my reward.
Worth reading if only for the sheer LOL value.

As for Paolini......well if you enjoy page after page of nothing happening, long dull descriptions of swords and Armour and have ever wondered what starwars would be like if it dropped into a fantasy setting then its highly recommended.


message 36: by Bill (new) - rated it 3 stars

Bill Golden If we're going old-school, I'll recommend Michael Moorcock's Elric of Melnibone and its sequels.

You have a chaos-worshiping sorcerer-king, a soul-drinking hellblade, side quests to other Moorcock realms, sex, betrayal, and oceans of blood. Good times.


Austin Payne There is not really much that matches the same voice and tone Martin uses but there are many other great Fantasy series out there. Ia would agree with a lot of what has been recommended

The Mistborn Triology and The Stormlight Archives: Words of Radiance,The Way of Kings.

The Demon Cycle Books: The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, The Daylight Warare well written and able to really draw you into the books and make you really "feel" for the characters as they face hardships through out the books.

Abercrombie's First Law series, as well as his stand alone novels in the same world are all good reads (they gritty and action packed with characters or stand out in a genre filled with "cookie cutter" characters).

The Wheel of Time series, if you don't mind something that will take a while to get through

The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man's Fear

The Riyria Revelations, are less dark, fast paced, and enjoyable.


message 38: by Otto (new) - rated it 5 stars

Otto Austin wrote: "There is not really much that matches the same voice and tone Martin uses but there are many other great Fantasy series out there. Ia would agree with a lot of what has been recommended

The Mistb..."

The kingkiller chronicles are amazing :D


Golnaz I highly recommend Robin Hobb's Farseer Trilogy (Assassin's Apprentice, Royal Assassin, and Assassin's Quest). I actually ended up reading the Song of Ice and Fire (GoT) books AFTER reading Hobbs' and searching online for other fantasy series that were considered as eloquent and rich as Hobbs' (back in 2005). I also tried reading Terry Goodkind's Sword of Truth around that same time (was obviously going through a huge fantasy phase then) and I could barely get through the first book. I agree with the general consensus that you should pass on that series. It's not awful but there's really nothing unique about it...terribly formulaic and cliche. Life's too short for bad literature. :)


message 40: by Sindy (new) - added it

Sindy I loved The name of the wind & Wise mans fears by Patrick Ross...something. Kvothe is an amazing story. however if cliffhangers dont do it for u stay away! because the 2nd book leaves you with more questions than answers. However, still I loved it.


message 41: by Liz (new) - rated it 5 stars

Liz I'm sorry that I don't have any recommendations (everything I would have recommended has already been said), but I wanted to thank you guys for sharing! I made a shelf for all the recommendations I read here, and just wanted to share some gratitude :)


message 42: by Tad (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tad Watson The Bronze Knight series by John Marco. Only three books but it is excellent reading.


message 43: by Bill (new) - rated it 3 stars

Bill Golden The Dragonbone Chair, Stone of Farewell, and To Green Angel Tower. I can't believe I almost forgot Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

Also, if you don't mind a somewhat lighter tone to your high fantasy, try Dragondoom or The Dragonstone by Dennis L. McKiernan. While the entire Mithgar series is linked and semi-dependent on knowing the other books, each novel is pretty well self-contained, and these two are the best of the series.


Anastasia Right after I read G.O.T I read A Cavern of Black Ice by J.V. Jones. It's the first in a series called Sword of Shadows. I liked the books a lot and JV Jones is a woman which is awesome!


Golnaz Anastasia wrote: "Right after I read G.O.T I read A Cavern of Black Ice by J.V. Jones. It's the first in a series called Sword of Shadows. I liked the books a lot and JV Jones is a woman which is awesome!"

Thanks for the recommendation Anastasia! I, for one, will definitely be checking out that series. I also recommended a female author (Robin Hobb), hence the fascination.


Anastasia Golnaz wrote: "Anastasia wrote: "Right after I read G.O.T I read A Cavern of Black Ice by J.V. Jones. It's the first in a series called Sword of Shadows. I liked the books a lot and JV Jones is a woman which is a..."

Swell! I'll check her out! :D


message 47: by Ashley (last edited Jun 20, 2014 07:47AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ashley I agree most of your recommendations. I actually really disliked the Abercrombie books. Just very forgettable and unfulfilling. So no love from me there.

I would recommend the Prince of thorns books instead.

I have enjoyed Brett Weeks. I like the Lightbringer series better than the Night Angle so far, but both are readable.

And of course there is Locke Lamora. Who doesn't enjoy the Gentleman's bastards?

I also really enjoyed Talion: Revenant and Martin's Tuff Voyaging. Although they are both stand alone books.


Waseim Helweh not very much like GoT
but highly recommend Powder Mage series, 2 books are out so far
they are awesome reads check it out


TheBohemianBookworm Sindy wrote: "I loved The name of the wind & Wise mans fears by Patrick Ross...something. Kvothe is an amazing story. however if cliffhangers dont do it for u stay away! because the 2nd book leaves you with mor..."


Oh I second this! It rocks!


message 50: by TheBohemianBookworm (last edited Jun 22, 2014 02:20PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

TheBohemianBookworm Stephen Lawhead writes well. But his books can be a little preachy. If you can ignore that they are very well written.


« previous 1
back to top