Catching up on Classics (and lots more!) discussion

New School Classics- 1900-1999 > Mockingbird Getting Organized

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Paul (new)

Paul (pleasantman) | 20 comments I'm new to GoodReads, so I'm curious about how we organize for our May 2014 reading of Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird."

ABOUT THE BOOK (No Spoilers) - 31 CHAPTERS
From an organizational standpoint, I'll mention the following (without risk of any spoilers): The book has 31 chapters. May 2014 has 4 weeks, and the book can easily be broken into 4 parts:
(a) Chapters 1-7;
(b) Chapters 8-16;
(c) Chapters 17-23; and
(d) Chapters 24-31.

So how do we organize?

HOW DO WE ORGANIZE? - A SUGGESTION
Paul's Suggestion: My thought would be that we start 4 "No Spoilers" topics. The first topic would be entitled "Chapters 1-7 (No Spoilers of Material After Chapter 7)". We would all try to read Chapters 1-7 by Friday May 9, so we could all begin discussing Chapters 1-7 during the days that follow.

The second topic would be "Chapters 8-16 (No Spoilers of Material After Chapter 16)", and we would all try to complete our reading of that material by Friday May 16, so that we could all begin discussing Chapters 8-16 during the days that follow.

And so on for the remaining two parts and the remaining two Fridays of the month of May 2014...

Also, you could create a separate, parallel, set of the 4 topics for folks who aren't concerned about Spoilers and who want to be able to talk about the entire book (for example, about foreshadowing, etc.) throughout. These topics could be entitled "Chapters 1-7 (Wide Open Discussion - Spoilers Welcomed)" for example.

However, perhaps this approach is too structured, too heavy-handed. I'm writing in search of suggestions from ANYONE with more experience than I about such things here at GoodReads.

PATH FORWARD