The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

WINTER CHALLENGE 2015 > 20.9 - Moderator's Pet - Laura NT"s task: Art and Science

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kristina Simon (last edited Dec 09, 2015 11:54AM) (new)

Kristina Simon (kristinasimon) | 10918 comments Mod
20.9 - Moderator's Pet - Laura NT's task: Art and Science
Art and science have many similarities. They both require creativity, devotion, and a stubbornness to stick with things through hard times. I am a scientist working in a lab that studies cellular motor proteins and their roles in breast cancer. Most days I get by on sheer stubbornness.

For this task, read ONE book that fulfills one of the below options.

Required: State which option you chose when you post.

Option A: Read a non-fiction book with the Main Page Genres of: Science>Biology, Science>Natural History, Science>Evolution, Science>Chemistry, Science>Environment, or Science>Genetics.

Option B: In the lab, you have to juggle many things at once. Read a short story collection. This does not include omnibus editions that package several previously published books into one book, but must be obvious that it is a short story collection from the description.

Option C: In science you are regularly learning new techniques and learning new subjects. Read a book that is #1 in a series. This must be a series you have not read before. It must be obvious this is the first in the series from the book’s Goodreads page.
Required: State that you have not read any book in the series before.