THE Group for Authors! discussion

Writer's Circle > Turning your book into *fill in blank*

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christopher (new)

Christopher | 15 comments I wanted to engage some opinions. I am a new author and what I suspect to be fake offers have come towards my way.

When I first set out I never intended for my books to be turned into anything other than books. However I have seen many examples of how an author can have their work turned into a movie or graphic novel or even a game in Game of thrones case.

My instincts are telling me all these offers I got are fake because they are all too good to be true and I know my books are not that great, not too many people have read them.

One of these offer pretended to be someone from Goodreads (which I forwarded but that is a separate subject)

So I was hoping authors in this group could give me the basics on the Pitfalls on this subject.

So far I am making audio books and a Graphic novel which is all I really intended.

So I guess
Question 1: How do you tell a real offer from a fake?
Question 2: Is there some things a book should just never be turned into?

message 2: by Patricia (new)

Patricia Loofbourrow (pattyloof) I've seen books turned into everything from beer steins to underwear. I guess it depends on your book and what you want to do with it. Make sure you keep the merchandising rights. :)

A real offer is where money goes towards you. Others may be real but you may want to consult an attorney if you're doubtful.

message 3: by Eric (new)

Eric Westfall (eawestfall) | 177 comments A couple of thoughts:

1. Remember a powerful truth: if it sounds too good to be true, it isn't true.

2. Unless you have a lot of experience with contracts, particularly publishing contracts or merchandising agreements, talk to a lawyer before you sign anything. "Electronic signatures" can be just as binding as the old-fashioned pen and ink ones.